Happy 2013!

Happy New Year Everyone! Wishing you all good things to come 🙂

I rang in the New Year with friends at an Irish Pub with some live music, dancing and champagne toasts! The restaurant was packed and I could feel the energy as everyone counted down to midnight.

IMG 0533

IMG 0534

As exciting it is to have a fresh start in the New Year and anticipate what’s ahead, I HATE the end of the holiday season. It’s such a cozy time and I look forward to it all year. How strange is it when all the lights, music and festivities just end? Just like that–bam–done. So sad, until next year holidays!

IMG 0528 

Taking this bad boy down today… wahhh 😦

IMG 0529

Cozy mantel about to be bare and ugly and boring

Despite my uneasiness about 2013 and all that’s to come, I’m still feeling very positive and determined. I’m ready to embrace the changes ahead and to go out there and get what I want. My attitude is that no matter where I end up or start out after I graduate, it doesn’t matter so much. No matter where I go, there will certainly be something I can take away from the experience–whether I’m content where I am or not. Maybe it will be the people I meet, the things I learn or just simply the worldliness that comes from getting out there and being on your own. Nothing is permanent and starting out is just that–starting out. I’m going to continue to work hard and discover what makes me happy. I know I’ll eventually stumble upon where I want to be.

Moving on to something else on my mind (shocking right?!) is my goal to get back into shape this New Year! Along with 123570239485732480952 other people in the world making a resolution to do this, I will most definitely be joining in. I entered my college years in decent shape having been involved with track, cross country and lacrosse throughout high school. I was a pretty healthy eater as well–lots of the good stuff and normal portions of the bad stuff thrown in here and there. But a lot happened as the semesters went by between the late night studying, crazy clinical hours and dining hall goodies/ late night delivery services! Not to mention having had two hip surgeries that required months of recovery, rest and rehabilitation. So in the end, the dreaded freshman 15 caught up to me. Actually it was more like a college 15, with poundage ever so nicely distributed over the 4 years.

This blog is about finding balance–so I will approach this with just that! Nothing crazy, just me simply getting back to healthier eating habits and introducing exercise back into my routine. It’s easy to get stuck in a rut once it becomes your norm. But with some effort, a healthier lifestyle can become your new norm. It takes 3 weeks to create a habit–so I’m going to commit myself to that and make this positive change. I remember how good it felt when I was eating well and in shape–I can’t wait to get back to that.

Why am I sharing this with you? It helps me to keep myself accountable for my actions. I plan to share some of my workouts and meals as well in order to stay motivated and on track. Lots more to come on this topic!

Enjoy the rest of the holiday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

