Houston We Have a Problem!

In about 2 weeks, my nursing clinical starts again–and guess what? My scrub pants are way too tight! The holidays (and this whole year, rather) have been way too good to me. While that’s nice and all, I’m not about to go buy myself a new uniform–those pants cost 50 schmacks and I would need two pairs. The solution–really get serious about my New Year’s goal to get fit.  Though I’ve been better, I’m not doing that great–it’s time to stop fooling around. So, I’m setting a short-term goal. I find that short-term goals give a longer journey some focus and make an future destination more attainable. Today is January 8th–by January 23 (clinical orientation day) my butt better be comfortably nestled in those pants–update to come of course!

How am I going to go about this??

1) Focus on eating real, natural and unprocessed foods in single serving sizes–focus on combining complex carbs, healthy fats and lean protein

2) Eating 3 meals and 2 portioned snacks daily–stopping the mindless munchin’ and late night chowin’

3) Doing SOMETHING active 6 days a week–combining gentle cardio, some intense intervals and a little strength training

I feel this is a balanced approach that is do-able yet challenging  due to the poor habits I’ve developed. Ultimately, it’s a lifestyle change that I really want to own and for which I’ll feel good about.  We’ll see where this goes!

Some Recent Healthy Eats:

IMG 0518

1/4 cup gluten-free oats, 2 tbsp. chia seeds, 1 scoop vanilla protein, carob chips & scoop of almond butter

IMG 0530

 summer squash

IMG 0542

tofu sautéed in sesame oil and gluten-free soy sauce (10 minutes each side over medium heat=crispy goodness)

IMG 0583

steak with seasoned shrimp, gruyere sweet potato fries and garlicky brussels

Today’s Workout:

I’m trying to get back into running while minding my hips as they still can get irritated due to my past surgeries. To me, running is one of the most satisfying forms of exercise–it makes me feel powerful and energized (when I’m actually in shape that is–right now it’s terrible haha). I also love it because you don’t have to be in a smelly old gym–you can get outside and appreciate the day.  I did the below walk/run treadmill workout to ease back into jogging. I plan to increase the speed and reduce the walking times as it becomes more comfortable–right now it most definitely was not!

Ease Back Into Running Workout

Screen Shot 2013 01 08 at 3 52 55 PM

*Increase speed and/or reduce walking time as you get more in shape!

I’ll leave you with a healthy and flavorful recipe from last night’s dinner. It’s packed with protein and fiber for lasting satiety.

Cuban-Inspired Chicken & Black Beans w/ Roasted Asparagus

IMG 0642

Ingredients:

1 can blackbeans w/ liquid

4 chicken breasts cut into strips or pieces

1/2 large onion or 1 small, chopped

2 tbsp. olive oil

1/4 tsp red pepper

1 tsp. garlic

3/4 tsp cumin

3/4 tsp oregano

2 tbs. balsamic vinegar

1/2 tsp salt +1/2 tsp pepper

1 cup brown rice

Method:

1. Head olive oil, onion, red pepper and garlic in a large pan over medium-high heat.

2. When onions are tender, add chicken and cook through

3. Add black beans, seasonings and balsamic vinegar and combine thoroughly

4. Reduce heat to low and simmer for 20 minutes uncovered

5. Prepare rice according to package directions

6. Serve chicken&beans over rice

~serves 4

For the Asparagus:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper

Wash and remove the ends from a bunch of fresh asparagus

Place asparagus in a large bowl and season with olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic to taste. Mix well

Put asparagus on baking sheet in a single layer and bake for 30 minutes

Anyone watch the Bachelor last night? I know it’s incredibly unrealistic but I simply can’t help myself!

Have a good rest of the day 🙂

This entry was posted in Fitness, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

