Make a Splash

Just a few more days and I’m off to my final semester at school! ahhhhhh! So much ahead–days in the NICU, senior festivities with friends, crazy studying for boards, numerous ceremonies and lots of FREAKING out. I’m excited, happy, sad and nervous–all at any given time. So basically I’m goin cray cray. Nah for real, I’m feeling good about what’s to come–good and ready.

IMG 0323

Looking forward to reuniting with my ladies 🙂

I came across a quote in Self Magazine at the gym today–it was so perfect that I ripped it out and took it with me–shhhh! It set me up with a positive mindset to head back to campus with:

Be Fearless. If you make only one resolution this year, let it be to live boldly. You control this movement: Rather than cautiously test the water, drive straight into life with free abandon. Imagine the person you want to be and the life you want to live, then simply commit to them. Believe in yourself. Embrace your beauty. Discover a new passion. And whatever you do, wherever you go, don’t be afraid to make a splash.

Splash

Now to a little update with the food switch-up I began on Wednesday. The first day was rough because I was heavily focused on eating low carb and as a result didn’t get much else in to neutralize it all (veggies, some fruits and grains). Instead I ate lots of eggs, bacon, cheese, bacon and bacon. As you can imagine–my stomach was not feelin’ the love. I’m not used to digesting such heavy and fatty foods. And despite what my nutritionist told be about fat not mattering–I do think there’s a limit to all the artery-clogging saturated fat & cholesterol in red meat, dairy and eggs. So I’ve taken a step back and refocused myself a bit–keeping in mind a balanced approach.I’m paying more attention to the quality and variety of my meals while keeping in mind the ratios of nutrients I’m supposed to stick too. I’m finding that lots more veggies and a few low glycemic fruits and grains paired with protein/fat leads to a much comfier gut. 

IMG 0676

 

IMG 0681 

IMG 0652

IMG 0398

The key to blood sugar control is consuming fiber packed complex carbohydrates (brown rice, quinoa, beans) with protein. This will slow the absorption of the sugar (broken down carbs) into your blood stream and thus minimize insulin spiking (the hormone that moves sugar out of your blood and into your cells). It’s pretty simple: meat&potatoes, apples&peanut butter, fruit&protein powder, etc. Remember that this combination will keep you satiated for hours because you won’t experience the blood sugar crash that follows a glucose/insulin surge. Do it!

IMG 0677

I’ve been using this app to see how close my breakdown is to what the nutritionist suggested (50% fat, 30% protein, 20% carb). The above was my first day when I was on my best behavior (and feeling gross after all the bacon). I hope to stay below 30% carbs, allowing for some wiggle room to eat some more nutritious foods like fruit and starchy veggies. And most of the fat should come from monounsaturated sources, which lower bad cholesterol, like in avocados and nuts. To me, that what makes me feel best–as long as I stay smart, limit portions and combine with that Godly protein! 

This entry was posted in quotes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Make a Splash

  1. fitin52 says:

    50% fat seems like an awful lot to me. But I’m no nutritionist. Did yours say why? I’m super curious!

    • rantingrose says:

      I know! I felt a bit uneasy when I first heard it too–I mean we’ve always been taught to keep fat in check as part of a healthy diet. But when you’re eating reduced carbs, your energy has to come from somewhere else. It can’t come from protein (used for rebuilding muscles and tissues) but it can come from fat. In a few weeks your body will adapt to using it as your main energy source and you can get everything you need from it in addition to the portion of carbs that I do eat. As a result you don’t have to worry about storing it or having it build up in your arteries. Your blood sugar stays very stable as fat doesn’t spike it and little insulin is released (fat storing hormone).There is a lot of research out there that high fat diets aren’t the culprit to heart disease and diabetes–rather its the large amount of carbs we eat–we’re not built to handle so much. That being said, I definitely wouldn’t follow this diet by choice–I’m doing it for my health to reverse my insulin resistance. I hope this helps a bit–I was confused for a while myself!

      • fitin52 says:

        That’s super helpful, thanks! And I’m really glad it’s working for you. Your journey to figure out what was wrong with your body was really long and sounds really frustrating. I’m sorry it took so long to find a solution, but yay that you did!!

      • rantingrose says:

        thanks so much! and really thanks for the question I realize I was a bit unclear/it’ a confusing topic and I’m now planning a post to explain everything in simpler terms

Leave a Reply

