No Solar Eclipses!

It is absolutely bone-chilling cold around here. I can’t stand it. I don’t want to do ANYTHING. Getting in my car for clinical at 5am is quite possibly the most miserable thing ever–it takes a good 10 minutes for the heat to become even remotely warm and then another 20 minutes for my fingers and butt to defrost. It makes me incredibly grumpy. Moreover, it further enforces any excuses I have not to work out. Who the heck wants to run into a gym–freezing–change clothes–freezing–workout–then run to the car all sweaty and 1000x more freezing. A toasty bed/couch, tea and my Mac sound much more appealing these days…

I’m working pretty hard to keep working at my “healthy” goals–being back at school makes it a lot harder (little sleep, studying/work, and plenty of other more appealing activities). I even signed up at a nicer gym to motivate since my university gym sucks. This new one has TVs on all the cardio equipment–if that doesn’t help I’m not sure anything will. But even with this added effort, my car still magically drives right past the gym on my way home from clinical–even though my bag is ready and packed on the seat next to me. Sigh. I’m giving myself some leniency during this adjustment week. I plan on getting back into it ASAP (with warmer clothing). 

Good news is I’ve been sticking to my diet pretty consistently. Lotsaa meat, veggies, nuts, avocado, berries, flax/chia, etc. I’m pretty proud of this because with the lack of sleep that comes with early morning clinicals–sugar and carbs are my go-to. There has been a few minor slip ups–but in general feeling good!

IMG 0704 001

lotsaaa salad 

IMG 0702

lotsaaa chicken

IMG 0710

‘lil bit raw honey for a taste of sweet= spoonfuls with stressed/tired [DANGER]

My birthday presents came early this year (cause I just needed them soooo badly obviously!). My b-day isn’t for another few weeks but I NEEDED this straightener ASAP–I was beginning to look a little too poodle-ish for my liking. It heats up in 30 seconds, works quickly, and leaves your hair so soft—get it if you suffer from beast hair as I do. Thanks mom!

 And today this bad boy came in the mail from my mom’s boyfriend. This past winter break, I experienced my first green smoothie and now I’m hooked. I really needed a good quality blender for my apartment to keep up with the practice.This thing is powerful–and you don’t have to deal with putting food in little by little because it can handle pretty much anything all at once. I’m so excited!

IMG 0708

My favorite green drink consists of half a green apple, a handful of spinach and a cucumber–it’s so light, refreshing and easy to throw down a few extra servings of veggies. Since I’ve been having these drinks–I honestly do feel more energized and even noticed smoother digestion. Breaking down veggies into a smooth puree makes their nutrients (especially the oxygenizing chlorophyll found in the cell walls) more easily absorbed by the body. 

IMG 0665

Basic green drink: 1 cucumber, large handful spinach, 1/2 green apple (or double recipe as it keeps in fridge for 2 days)

You can really get fancy with this–it’s all trial and error (I’ve had some doozies). Celery, kale, avocado, parsley, mint, small portions of various fruits (berries, mango, etc.). Adding protein powder can give it more staying power and make it more smoothie-like. Also, adding psyllium husk adds a lot of fiber and makes the drink thicker if that’s your thang.

Sometimes I even like to throw this schtuff in for some super foods, antioxidants and vitamins. It has wheat grass (which is gluten free), vegetable and fruit concentrates as well as pre/probiotics and lots of other jazz. The taste is slightly earthy but I enjoy it. It feels–healthy 🙂

IMG 0709

With that, I’d like to share with you the message that came in the box of my blender (you know how if something is a gift–the person sending it can inclose a message). Well this is what I got—

IMG 0707

This spring, I’m going skydiving with my mom’s boyfriend. It’s something we’ve been talking about for a while and I can’t wait! We’re also both trying to help each other get into shape. Our motivation is that we don’t want to cause a solar eclipse when we jump out of the plane. Hopefully all my green drinks will keep me on the right path–cause that would just be so embarrassing! Haha but for real this guy makes me laugh:)

 

Enjoy the day everyone!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

